Little Badger’s Shining Ascension Comic Project: THE LOWDOWN POST

Header

Faatin (left) and Bregga (right), two characters from the Shining Ascension comic book project. Art by http://justjingles.deviantart.com/

As I begin to write Shining Ascension Issue #2 (Hueston and I plan to release #1 and #2 together), it occurs to me that I haven’t made an official “project explanation” post. Today, I will address the following tantalizing questions:

1) What is Shining Ascension? (THE ORIGIN STORY)

2) What is the future of Shining Ascension? When will it be available? How many issues will be released?

3) Who is T. Hueston?

4) Who am I?!?

Okay, here we go, here we go, here we go!

1) THE ORIGIN STORY

About 4.5 years ago, I invented a text-based role-playing game. For those who are unfamiliar with text-based role-playing, I essentially used the power of writing and imagination to build a high fantasy playground for my friend T. Hueston. We went on fabulous adventures together. Make-believe: it’s not just for kids anymore!

One fateful day, Hueston met an artist named The Incredible Nick Robles. They became friends, and Hueston commissioned a scene from our game, below (some parts of the scene have been cut, to prevent spoilers hehe). Wow! That’s a lot of awesome! The full work is even better … if you’re curious, visit Nick’s website and poke around: http://www.nickroblesart.com/ As you can see, Nick has a knack for action, character design, and coloring. He’s truly incredible 🙂

Fight!

Battle at sea! Art by Nick Robles.

Before long, inspired by Nick’s work, Hueston suggested, “Let’s make a comic book based on our game.” As a pessimist, I was reluctant. I did not know how well the game would translate to a comic book medium. Honestly, I’m still nervous about the project. It’s new territory, and I have an anxious streak. But Hueston convinced me that everything would be ok. Plus, Hueston pointed out that the world needs more diverse, kickass comic book characters. Our cast includes many POC and/or LGBTQA heroes, the kind of characters Hueston and I wish were more abundant in mainstream comic books. By the way, the protagonist Faatin comes from a matrilocal society that is partially inspired by precolonial Apache culture. Hey-o! Represent!

So Hueston, Nick, and I began the Shining Ascension project – the rest is history.

Shining Ascension_Issue1_Page02_1500

Faatin, Bregga, and Faatin’s pretty buddy: a page from the comic, by Nick Robles.

2) FUTURE OF THE COMIC

The Shining Ascension Issue 2 script is almost finished. Once Nick inks and colors that comic this year, we’ll release issues 1 and 2 together, freely available online. Hueston and I have planned a 6-issue arc. If we scrape together funding to pay Nick, we’ll release Issues 3-6 within a year. If we have no funding, the project will take longer. Either way, we’re completing this baby, believe you me.

3) WHO IS T. HUESTON

In Hueston’s words: “I am a veterinarian and artist with an interest in European warfare, arms and armor.” Check out Hueston’s art here: http://jarahamee.deviantart.com/

4) WHO AM I?!?!

Check out my little biography!

~Fin~

2 thoughts on “Little Badger’s Shining Ascension Comic Project: THE LOWDOWN POST

  1. If you’re in need of funding, you might consider a little Kickstarter once you’ve put out the first two issues. The art is nice and the idea sounds interesting; I’d fund it!

Leave a Reply

